2022 Issue 2

VOLUME XII, NUMBER 2
DISASTER DISCOURSE: REPRESENTATIONS OF CATASTROPHE (II)

Breaking the Silence: The Irish Civil War in the Short Stories by Dorothy Macardle
Elena Ogliari (elena.ogliari@uniupo.it)
University of Eastern Piedmont, Italy.
doi: 10.31178/UBR.12.2.1

Laughing and Crying at the Same Time: Reading Biyi Bandele’s Burma Boy through a Bergsonian Theory of the Comic
Christina Howes (chowes@uic.es)
Universitat Internacional de Catalunya (UIC); Spain.
doi: 10.31178/UBR.12.2.2

When Memory Becomes Debris: Aesthetic Modes of Representing Disaster Loss
Yuko Yoshida (yuko.yoshida2013@gmail.com)
University of Amsterdam; the Netherlands.
doi: 10.31178/UBR.12.2.3

Disaster and Emotion in Richard Matheson’s Novel I Am Legend
Shpëtim Madani (madanishpetim@gmail.com)
Academy of Armed Forces, Tirana, Albania.
doi: 10.31178/UBR.12.2.4

“What is the cost of lies?”: Historiography of a Disaster and Collapse of the Soviet Metanarrative in Craig Mazin and Johan Renck’s HBO miniseries Chernobyl
Deepayan Datta; Arindam Nandi (deepayan.datta@gmail.com)
T.H.K. Jain College, Kolkata; Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India.
doi: 10.31178/UBR.12.2.5

Diplomatic gifts as expression of the colonial trauma. Stories of African wooden and ivory sculptures
Horia Iova (horiaiova@yahoo.com)
University of Bucharest; Romania.
doi: 10.31178/UBR.12.2.6

Calling Out to the Heavens for Aid: Disaster Songs in American Folk Music
David Livingstone (Livingstone@seznam.cz)
Palacký University, Olomouc; Czech Republic.
doi: 10.31178/UBR.12.2.7

“The dreams of men, the seed of commonwealths, the germs of empires”. The Impact of Colonialism in Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness
Eliana Ionoaia (eliana.ionoaia@lls.unibuc.ro)
University of Bucharest; Romania.
doi: 10.31178/UBR.12.2.8